Confessions of a New Smartphone User

By Catie Schwartzman

ImageAfter having a “dumb” cell phone for the duration of middle school and finally being able to swap it for a “smart” one, I was filled with lots of excitement. The latest generation of mobile devices, cutting-edge features and ever-changing data plans, can be very perplexing. First of all, with one of these devices, you will never be bored. EVER. Even the wallpaper on my phone has some sort of game. There is a broad spectrum of applications you can download, many without cost, and they are incredibly entertaining. Why not check your social network, chat with your friends, or play a game? How about do that all at once? With my old phone I could do two things: talk and text. The messages would be received individually in block letters. Accessing group texts made the phone go all haywire and shout at me in computer language. “C#4d2jf”? I am not living The Matrix! Did a cat crawl on your keyboard?

Another topic I’d like to rant about is emoticons. There are more ridiculous cartoons out there on phones these day than anyone could ever dream of.  Case in point, the ability to send someone an image of a man with a mustache or stack of money with wings. How these help people express their emotions? I am not sure, but I guess this is where the technology world is going. However, I have a great appreciation for the cameras that accompany smartphones these days. It is amazing. It looks just as impressive as a professional camera. My new phone even has a three-dimensional camera, which makes everything look incredibly realistic. After the years of living in the “dark,” I have been introduced to the modern phone capabilities, and I have to say, technology today is unbelievably advanced.

Photo Courtesy of DigitalTrends.com

Leave a comment